An interview with WildVibes – Young Belgian revelation

Wouter Postelmans, also known as WildVibes, is a 17 year old DJ and producer from Ghent (Belgium). He has been catching the attention of many people lately with his amazing bootlegs and remixes. The rising talent from Belgium does it all, wether it’s making his own original tracks, remixing tracks, making bootlegs. Everything he touches lately turns into gold.

Music Wildvibes

He has gained an insane amount of awareness and succes for his past remixes of Alan Walker’s ‘Alone’, Martin Garrix & Dua Lipa’s ‘Scared To Be Lonely’, Zed & Alessia Cara’s ‘Stay’ and has received support of major names within the EDM scene such as Hardwell, Nicky Romero, Tiësto and The Chainsmokers. With his perseverance to succeed he is most definitely one of the Belgian youngsters to keep an eye on in the future.

Wildvibes Support

Wouter has made a remix of ‘Alone’ by Alan Walker which got uploaded to the Youtube channel ‘Proximity‘ and has already reached over 2.3 million views.

Music Wildvibes

Because of his latest succes we decided to sit together and ask him a few questions.

Interview

How did you get into music production?

I was watching Tomorrowland 2012 and I saw Swedish House Mafia. From that moment I knew I wanted to make music. I wanted to be the one to stand on the Tomorrowland mainstage one day. Progressive House captured my heart because of Swedish House Maffia. They are the main reason for me starting with producing progressive house.

Did you start of as a music producer or a dj?

Well, when I was 13-14 years old I heard about this dj software called VirtualDj so I searched the internet for it and started experimenting with it.

How did you come up with the name ‘WildVibes’?

I want to give people a feeling which they never felt before with my music. I want people to just enjoy themselves. Being able to realise this with the music I make is simply amazing.

What is the weirdest thing that has ever happened to you whilst playing a set?

I started my set and after about 10 minutes, 3 guys started climbing on stage out of nowhere and started to shuffle. It was the weirdest thing I’ve ever encountered.

Where do you get the motivation to keep on going even when you receive negative feedback or comments?

Having the unstoppable urge to progress and keep going forward is what thrives me. I absolutely love receiving negative critic, because this helps me to improve myself and my sound. When you always receive good feedback, you have no input from other people to challenge and improve yourself with. You don’t improve anything, only your self-image.

What tip do you have for anyone out there starting with music production?

Make your own sound and do whatever you like to do. Music has no rules. Start experimenting with plugins, samples, styles. Keep on grinding. Having fun is the only important thing.

What’s your proudest achievement in music so far?

I was chilling in a club and suddenly they played my remix, and the crowd went crazy. For me personally, seeing other people absolutely going wild on my track gave me goosebumps. Those moments are the moments we do it for. It’s the best feeling ever to see people enjoying the music you’ve been making in your bedroom.

You have obviously gained a lot of success since the release of your Alan Walker – Alone remix, did you ever think whilst making the track ‘this could be it’?

Actually, I don’t think about this on any track. I produce it, release it, and see afterwards what happens. I just do my thing and do what I really love to do, make music which I like.

What major goal have you set yourself to achieve in 2017?

Signing a major label release, for example: Revealed Recordings.

Who is your biggest inspiration?

As said in the beginning of the interview, Swedish House Mafia is the main reason why I started with music. It’s safe to say that they are my overall biggest inspiration. Other than them I really like the style of Manse and Nicky Romero.

What kind of types/styles of music do you like, in addition to progressive house?

Tropical, chill house, bigroom (but original).

What would you do if you knew you had one day to live?

I would love to do a studio session with Nicky Romero and thank my family and friends for the great years I’ve had on planet earth :).

Make sure to follow WildVibes on Facebook and Soundcloud!

 

Until next time!

 

 

One thought on “An interview with WildVibes – Young Belgian revelation

Leave a Reply

